Introducing the “We’re In” app from Bing

Today we’re happy to announce the release of the “We’re In” app for Windows Phone. 

We’re In makes organizing get- together’s, carpooling and trying to find people in a crowd a breeze. Any time you want to see where your friends are—We’re In can help you. It’s simple, invite your friends, and when they join, they’ll see your location and you’ll see theirs. When the invite expires, so does the shared location – no complicated process to worry about.

We’re In is a great way to save time and frustration when planning your roadtrip or meeting your friend at the mall – helping you connect with your friend faster. Let’s take a closer look at the new We’re In product features and how they work.

We’ve made We’re In super simple to use – all you need is your phone number to sign up. Simply invite your friends (via your contacts) to start sharing location info with each other including who, why, and how long:

clip_image002

Pick your friends from the contact list or enter their phone number, tell them what the plan is. At this point you can choose how long you want to share location info.

Your friends receive a text message with these details. They can use the app to join you or, for friends that don’t have a Windows Phone, they can join from the mobile website via the invite.

Seeing your friends on the map

As each of your friends joins you, their locations appear on the map. If you need to you can pan, pinch and stretch the map to see more or fewer of them. Everyone that joins can see everyone else’s location.

                                                                                                                                       clip_image004       clip_image006

You can also update your status message to let your friends know what’s going on (you’re on your way, you’re going to be late, the first round has just arrived, important stuff they need to know). To see someone’s most recent status message, just tap their user tile on the map. To see status messages for everyone that’s joined, go to the People tab.

clip_image008

To stop sharing your location info at any time, just tap “leave” on the People tab. If you want, you can send them a status message to let them know that you’re leaving.

clip_image010

And when the time is up, the invite expires and location sharing stops. You don’t need to do anything.

“We’re In” is available as a Windows Phone application.   We’re working on bringing this app to more devices, so stay tuned!

Philomena Lobo – Product Manager, Bing Maps & Bing Mobile

Shira Weinberg – Program Manager,  Bing Mobile

Share on twitter Share on facebook Share on linkedin Share on linkedin